System Integration


 
Introduction

System Integrators (SIs) have application domain expertise that their clients leverage to implement new solutions that can fulfill needs faster than other means.  Modern technologies are intricate and maintaining mastery requires frequent use of them.  It can be very expensive for clients to maintain this expertise.

System Integrators generally write software to integrate elements of a system.  This software executes on industrial, or embedded, computer systems.  Some SIs build their own computer systems but with the ready availability of modular industrial computers, this is becoming increasingly hard to justify.  One justification is to get the exact and specific input and output (I/O) that a system requires but this, too, is getting hard to justify given that firms exist that specialize in I/O development for standard computer form factors and ecosystems - like the Raspberry Pi.  EDATEC is such a firm.

EDATEC is an “Industrial Pi” solutions provider.  We have hundreds of I/O configurations available in metal-housed, rugged enclosures that include an integral Raspberry Pi module that is cooled without using a fan in order to reduce CPU-frequency downshifting, wear, noise, and ingress of dust and contaminants that are possible with fan-based systems.  As a vertically integrated hardware provider that is plugged into the Raspberry Pi organization’s official supply chain, if our standard I/O configurations do not meet your need, we offer custom configurations of hardware for annual production volume of as little as 500 units per year.

EDATEC is the electronics hardware provider to many SIs and the more SIs partnering with us, the more varied and competitive our solutions are.  We invite you to ask us for a quote or a conference call to learn what we already have or what you need built.

This webpage is organized into 4 more sections: Section 1 explains why anyone might want to hire or outsource a System Integrator, Section 2 discusses the pros and cons of building your own hardware in a world of highly integrated, capable, low cost modules like Raspberry Pi's, Section 3 presents how to become a System Integrator on your own right, and Section 4 is on how to team up with EDATEC what are our requirements.

Section 1: Why hire or outsource to a System Integrator

You are building or remodeling an office complex and you want it to be low maintenance and efficient to minimize your operating costs.  You want to automate heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC), door access, and building security along with remote access from anywhere in the world.  Or perhaps you have a business plan and financing to build a network of Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV) charging stations that accept credit cards and track energy consumption and statistics in a geography lacking such charging stations.  Still maybe you design high performance race cars and you want to incorporate an improved engine controller or incorporate new telemetry sensors onto an existing vehicle.  New plant layouts and new machinery in those plants are some of the more popular issues requiring engineered, custom or semi-custom solutions for reduced plant operating cost and improved efficiencies.

The above are examples of actual applications that System Integrators implement.  In fact, the list of applications is virtually endless; there are experts in just about any field that are available for hire to the pleasure of their clients.

However, there are reasons to “roll your own” solution.  Of course, you will need the human resources, ideally with experience implementing the solution you need and, if not, you’ll need enough time for your team to learn what they need to know.  You will also need the instruments and equipment to complete the job.  These are available to you just as they are to the System Integrators.  Considering the cost of mistakes and oversights due to lacking experience and possible rework, these costs can be quite high but worth it.  The best reason to do this is probably because your solution is proprietary, represents a competitive advantage, or you have a recurrent need for your development resources.  You could obtain intellectual property protection in the form of patents but they, too, are expensive.  It is difficult to detect violations of your patents and expensive to defend.  The best form of intellectual property protection is to keep your invention a trade secret as there is no expiration date on a trade secret.  However, after all, you must keep your invention secret which is hard to do unless you release information only to those on a strictly need to know basis.  The Coca-Cola recipe was kept proprietary for over 130 years; an incredible feat considering that most people like to talk about their inventions.

Section 2: Pros and Cons of building your own hardware

Many years ago, when working for a major electronics and semiconductor distributor, I noticed that a radio frequency (RF) module made by one manufacturer on the distributor’s line card incorporated a semiconductor chip made by another manufacturer on the same line card.  I decided to look up what companies were purchasing the RF module and then look up what companies were purchasing the lower-level chip.  To my surprise, a very large original equipment manufacturer (OEM) was buying production quantities of both the module and the chip.  I was dumbfounded.  Here was a company capable of producing a solution at the lowest possible production cost.  They had specification writers, development engineers, production engineers, test engineers, purchasing departments, and managers.  They had design archival systems for design retrieval and product life cycle support.  They had an engineering change order (ECO) system with testing and calibration requirements documented.  They had Manufacturing and Enterprise Resource Planning (MRP & ERP) systems to record where products were used, where they were stored, what they paid for each part and when, who they bought the parts from, and so on.  They had everything they needed to optimize the cost and the performance of an electronic system, yet they did not utilize all that they had.  Instead, they bought an RF module that had already passed compliance testing.  Then I realized the reasons why.

They might not have had the time to meet a market window.  Maybe they were confident of the market size and that their intrinsic costs would not be covered by a custom design.  Still if the market was larger than they thought, they could still customize a design.  Perhaps the performance of the commercial off the shelf (COTS) module was simply good enough or better than their application needed at a competitive cost to all alternatives.

Today, with ready availability of finished products such as compute modules, system on modules (SoMs), system on chips (SoCs), and system in packages (SiPs) access to canned expertise has never been more accessible.  Furthermore, software infrastructures like operating system (OS) ecosystems, open source software functionality like over the air (OTA) updates of programs to already deployed products are readily available.  One such COTS hardware and software ecosystem is Raspberry Pi.  In addition to all the items named above, Raspberry Pi also has a huge number of followers who are generally anxious to help answer any questions and large numbers of users mean that bugs and latent problems are discovered sooner than later.

Section 3: So, you want to be a System Integrator

To be a System Integrator today, you practically need to write software.  You must also have domain expertise.  Someone is hiring you to leverage your knowledge.  You need to be capable of delivering 100% turnkey solutions.  Your reputation counts.

You also need a professional network both to help circulate your name and also to know people you can ask for help, perhaps to cover a weakness of yours.  You have liability as a System Integrator.  There is risk and you need to be able to quote a job based on its risk.  For example, a quote in the form of a “Not to exceed” cost puts the risk on you.  You must know most of the known unknowns such as knowing that it will snow in the winter but you don’t know when, you will also beneficially know the kind of unknown unknowns that can surface and what impact to cost, quality, and time they had in past projects.

I was once exposed to a study of contractors and one trait that I remember is the importance of being in relative close proximity to one’s client.  There will be meetings to attend and systems to observe.  It’s important for the client to know you and feel comfortable that you will be there when needed.

Thankfully, whereas you need to know and understand all low level details of hardware, you will have to know the interfaces between the products or components of the system you are integrating.  But you won’t have to design those hardware interfaces.  They are readily available from EDATEC.

Section 4: Teaming up with EDATEC

EDATEC launched a System Integrator Program in 2024 that provides discounts for sample quantities of its products to help SIs test and evaluate hardware platforms.  There is a production discount too.  Being accepted to EDATEC’s SIP gives you access to its engineering staff and leverages their marketing for your services.

EDATEC benefits from the SI, too.  Our focus and aspiration is to lead in industrial and commercial products based on Raspberry Pi platforms.  Signing new SIs means sales of more products and more end customers.  EDATEC also learns from issues confronting SIs.  This broadens our product lines and feature sets.

Becoming a SI as part of our SIP starts with a conference call to explain yourself to us while we detail the program for you.    We look forward to meeting you and you can find how to contact us below.

Next, you must complete an application form and we must approve your inclusion in our program.  You must have at least one specific domain expertise but you might have multiple domains of expertise.  You will need your own customers and sales and marketing expertise to grow your business.  A record of pleasing customers for a long enough period is required, too.

Section 5: Popular products used by Sis
  • IPCs
  • HMIs
Section 6: More information
USA & Europe: Randall Restle 
randall@edatec.cn
+1 859-653-0800
 
Asia: Jason Liu 
sales@edatec.cn
 


NOTES

Section 2: Pros and Cons of building your own hardware

什么是系统集成商?


 
简介
系统集成商(SIs)拥有应用领域的专业知识,客户可以利用这些专业知识实施新的解决方案,从而比其他方式更快地满足需求。 现代技术错综复杂,要保持精通就必须经常使用。 对客户来说,维持这种专业知识的成本可能非常高昂。
 
系统集成商通常编写软件来集成系统元素。 这些软件在工业或嵌入式计算机系统上执行。 有些系统集成商会建立自己的计算机系统,但随着模块化工业计算机的出现,这种做法越来越难以自圆其说。 其中一个理由是要获得系统所需的精确和特定的输入和输出(I/O),但这也越来越难以成立,因为现在已经有公司专门为标准计算机外形和生态系统(如 Raspberry Pi)开发 I/O。 上海晶珩就是这样一家公司。
 
上海晶珩电子科技有限公司是一家工业树莓派提供商。 我们在金属外壳、坚固耐用的机箱中提供数百种 I/O 配置,其中包括一个集成的 Raspberry Pi 模块,该模块不使用风扇散热,以减少 CPU 频率下移、磨损、噪音以及基于风扇的系统可能出现的灰尘和污染物的侵入。 作为一家与 Raspberry Pi 组织的官方供应链紧密相连的垂直整合硬件供应商,如果我们的标准 I/O 配置不能满足您的需求,我们还可提供定制的硬件配置,年产量可低至每年 500 件。
 
上海晶珩是许多 SIs 的电子硬件供应商,与我们合作的 SIs 越多,我们的解决方案就越多样化,越具有竞争力。 我们诚邀您向我们询价或召开电话会议,以了解我们已有的产品或您需要的产品。
 
本网页还分为 4 个部分:
第 1 部分解释了为什么任何人都想雇用或外包系统集成商;
第 2 部分讨论了在树莓派(Raspberry Pi)等高度集成、功能强大、成本低廉的模块的世界中构建自己的硬件的利弊;
第 3 部分介绍了如何独立成为系统集成商;
第 4 部分介绍了如何与 EDATEC 合作,以及我们的要求。

第 1 部分:为什么要雇用或外包给系统集成商

您正在建造或改建一座办公大楼,您希望它维护成本低、效率高,从而最大限度地降低运营成本。 您希望实现供暖、通风和空调(HVAC)、门禁和楼宇安全的自动化,并可从世界任何地方进行远程访问。 又或者,您有商业计划和资金,要在缺乏充电站的地区建立一个接受信用卡、跟踪能源消耗和统计数据的电池电动汽车(BEV)充电站网络。 也许你设计的是高性能赛车,你想在现有车辆上安装改进的发动机控制器或新的遥测传感器。 新的工厂布局和工厂中的新机器是一些更常见的问题,需要设计、定制或半定制的解决方案来降低工厂运营成本和提高效率。
 
以上是系统集成商实施的实际应用实例。 事实上,应用的清单几乎是无穷无尽的;几乎任何领域都有专家可供聘用,以满足客户的需求。
 
不过,"自己开发 "解决方案也是有原因的。 当然,您需要人力资源,最好是具有实施所需解决方案的经验,如果没有,您也需要足够的时间让您的团队学习他们需要了解的知识。 您还需要仪器和设备来完成工作。 正如系统集成商一样,您也可以使用这些设备。 考虑到由于缺乏经验而造成的错误和疏忽以及可能的返工,这些成本可能会相当高,但也是值得的。 这样做的最好理由可能是因为你的解决方案是专有的,代表了一种竞争优势,或者你对开发资源有经常性的需求。 您可以通过专利形式获得知识产权保护,但专利费用也很昂贵。 很难发现侵犯专利权的行为,辩护费用也很高。 最好的知识产权保护方式是将你的发明作为商业秘密,因为商业秘密没有失效期。 然而,毕竟你必须对你的发明保密,而这是很难做到的,除非你只向那些严格需要知道的人透露信息。 可口可乐的配方被保密了 130 多年;考虑到大多数人都喜欢谈论自己的发明,这是一个令人难以置信的壮举。

第 2 部分:自制硬件的利与弊

多年前,当我在一家大型电子和半导体分销商工作时,我注意到在分销商的线卡上,一家制造商生产的射频(RF)模块与同一条线卡上另一家制造商生产的半导体芯片结合在一起。 我决定查一查有哪些公司购买了射频模块,然后再查一查有哪些公司购买了低级芯片。 令我惊讶的是,一家非常大的原始设备制造商(OEM)同时购买了大量的模块和芯片。 我惊呆了。 这是一家有能力以最低生产成本生产解决方案的公司。 他们有规格编写人员、开发工程师、生产工程师、测试工程师、采购部门和经理。 他们有用于设计检索和产品生命周期支持的设计档案系统。 他们有一个工程变更单(ECO)系统,记录测试和校准要求。 他们拥有制造和企业资源规划(MRP 和 ERP)系统,用于记录产品的使用地点、存储地点、每个部件的价格和时间、从谁那里购买部件等等。 他们拥有优化电子系统成本和性能所需的一切,但他们并没有充分利用现有的一切。 相反,他们购买了一个已经通过符合性测试的射频模块。 后来我才明白其中的原因。
 
他们可能没有时间满足市场窗口期的要求。 也许他们对市场规模很有信心,认为定制设计无法弥补其内在成本。 但如果市场比他们想象的要大,他们还是可以定制设计。 也许商用现成模块(COTS)的性能已经足够好,甚至优于他们的应用需求,而且成本比所有替代品都有竞争力。
 
如今,随着计算模块、系统模块(SoMs)、系统芯片(SoCs)和系统封装(SiPs)等成品的现成供应,获取专业技术的渠道变得前所未有的畅通。 此外,软件基础设施,如操作系统(OS)生态系统、开放源代码软件功能(如对已部署产品的程序进行空中(OTA)更新)等也一应俱全。 Raspberry Pi 就是这样一个 COTS 硬件和软件生态系统。 除了上述各项,Raspberry Pi 还拥有大量的追随者,他们通常急于帮助解答任何问题。

第 3 部分:您想成为一名系统集成商吗?

今天,要成为一名系统集成商,你实际上需要编写软件。 您还必须具备领域专业知识。 有人雇用你是为了利用你的知识。 您必须有能力提供 100% 的交钥匙解决方案。 你的声誉很重要。
 
你还需要一个专业网络,既能帮助传播你的名字,又能认识你可以寻求帮助的人,也许可以弥补你的弱点。 作为系统集成商,您需要承担责任。 风险是存在的,你需要能够根据风险对工作进行报价。 例如,以 "不超过 "成本的形式报价,风险就会由你承担。 你必须知道大多数已知的未知因素,比如知道冬天会下雪,但不知道什么时候下,你还必须知道在过去的项目中可能出现的未知因素,以及它们对成本、质量和时间的影响。
 
我曾经接触过一项关于承包商的研究,其中一个特点让我记忆犹新,那就是与客户保持相对近距离的重要性。 我们要参加各种会议,观察各种系统。 重要的是,客户要了解你,并相信你会在需要的时候出现。
 
值得庆幸的是,虽然您需要了解和理解硬件的所有低级细节,但您必须了解所集成系统的产品或组件之间的接口。 但您不必设计这些硬件接口。 您可以随时从上海晶珩获得这些接口。

第 4 部分:与上海晶珩合作

EDATEC 于 2024 年推出了一项系统集成商计划,为其产品样品提供折扣,以帮助系统集成商测试和评估硬件平台。 此外,还有生产折扣。 加入 EDATEC 的 SIP 后,您就可以接触到 EDATEC 的工程技术人员,并利用他们为您提供的服务进行营销。
 
EDATEC 也能从 SI 中获益。 我们的重点和愿望是引领基于 Raspberry Pi 平台的工业和商业产品。 签署新的 SI 意味着销售更多的产品和更多的终端客户。 EDATEC 还能从 SI 面临的问题中吸取经验教训。 这拓宽了我们的产品线和功能集。
 
要成为我们 SIP 的 SI,首先要召开电话会议,向我们说明您的情况,同时我们会为您详细介绍该计划。   我们期待与您会面,您可以在下面找到与我们联系的方式。
 
接下来,您必须填写一份申请表,我们必须批准您加入我们的计划。 您必须至少拥有一个特定领域的专业知识,但也可以拥有多个领域的专业知识。 您需要有自己的客户以及销售和营销方面的专业知识来发展您的业务。 您还需要有长期取悦客户的记录。

第 5 部分:Sis 使用的热门产品

  • IPCs
  • HMIs

第 6 部分:更多信息

美国&欧洲: Randall Restle 
Email: randall@edatec.cn
Phone: +1 859-653-0800
 
亚洲: Jason Liu 
Email:sales@edatec.cn

查看系统集成商列表